Doubles pair disqualified after ball lady unintentionally struck


French Open doubles participant Miyu Kato and her associate have been pressured to forfeit a match when the Japanese participant unintentionally hit a ball lady within the neck with a ball after some extent.

Within the second set on Court docket 14 at Roland Garros on Sunday, Kato took a swing along with her racquet and the ball flew in direction of the ball child, who was not wanting within the participant’s path whereas heading off the court docket.

At first, chair umpire Alexandre Juge solely issued a warning to Kato.

However after event referee Remy Azemar and Grand Slam supervisor, Australian Wayne McKewen went to Court docket 14 to look into what occurred, Kato and her associate, Aldila Sutjiadi of Indonesia, have been disqualified.

The unlucky episode left the ball lady crying and the disqualified Kato needing consolation from Sutjiadi as a result of she was distressed by what she’d finished.

That left Marie Bouzkova of the Czech Republic and Sara Sorribes Tormo of Spain the winners of the match.

“It’s only a unhealthy state of affairs for everybody,” Bouzkova stated. “However it’s form of one thing that, I suppose, is taken by the foundations, as it’s, although it’s very unlucky for them. On the finish of the day, it was the referee’s resolution.”

Bouzkova stated she didn’t see the ball hit the ball lady, however “she was crying for like quarter-hour.”

She stated one of many officers stated the ball “has to do some form of hurt to the particular person affected” and that “at first, (Juge) didn’t see that.”

Bouzkova stated she and Sorribes Tormo advised Juge “to look into it extra and ask our opponents what they suppose occurred.”

Throughout Coco Gauff’s 6-7 (5-7) 6-1 6-1 singles victory over Mirra Andreeva on Saturday, Andreev swatted a ball into the Court docket Suzanne Lenglen stands after dropping some extent within the first set.

Andreev was given a warning by the chair umpire for unsportsmanlike conduct however no additional penalty.

“I heard about that. Didn’t see it,” Bouzkova stated. “I suppose it simply will depend on the circumstances and the given state of affairs because it occurs. …

It’s tough, for positive.”



, , ,