Mustang’s lengthy awaited win in Gen3 Supercars

It has taken 17 races and a parity assessment however Ford have lastly cracked their Gen3 Supercars chequered flag drought on the streets of Townsville through Shell V-Energy Racing’s Anton De Pasquale.

Lengthy have the Mustangs toiled by spherical after spherical, race after race, having fun with podiums however by no means fairly greeting the chequered flag first because the new vehicles joined the grid this yr.

Ford’s Cam Waters formally has a race win to his identify, from a spherical one victory in Newcastle, however that got here through disqualification to each Crimson Bull Ampol Racing drivers.

Chevrolets had dominated in Newcastle, Melbourne, Perth, Tasmania, Darwin, and even in Saturday’s first race in Townsville.

However De Pasquale lastly introduced a Mustang dwelling after 88 laps and 250km round Reid Park to win his first race on the circuit and put Ford on the board in 2023.

His was one among two Mustangs ending within the high 10 together with Thomas Randle.

“We haven’t had an amazing begin to the season however we’ve slowly been turning round and at present every little thing labored out for us,” De Pasquale mentioned.

“First trophy for lots of the brand new guys in our group as nicely so it’s an actual buzz.

“The automotive was actually pacy at present in quite a lot of the stints which as superior.”

De Pasquale began from sixth and rapidly moved to 3rd within the opening laps earlier than choosing an early pit cease on lap 10.

Pole-sitter Waters continued to guide an incident-free race earlier than nearly all of Sunday’s main pack pitted on lap 27.

9 laps later and De Pasquale was in once more, earlier than swiftly passing Will Brown with a cease in hand to propel himself into severe consideration for the race.

With 24 laps remaining, De Pasquale’s third cease introduced new rear tyres and a recent gasoline top-up, and he resumed with an open observe in entrance of him.

The 27-year-old cruised to the chequered flag and received by 5 seconds to finish a 34-race win drought stretching again to Darwin final yr.

He turned the eighth completely different race winner in 2023 and in addition ended a 23-race streak of both a Holden or GM automotive taking victory in Supercars.

Brodie Kostecki received a late race duel with Andre Heimgartner for second on the rostrum, whereas Shane van Gisbergen got here from the heavens and a Twenty fifth-placed begin to safe fifth in his five hundredth profession race.

Will Brown’s sixth-placed end ensured Erebus Motorsport nonetheless sit atop the championship standings with Kostecki in second.


1. Anton De Pasquale (Shell V-Energy Racing)

2. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus Motorsport) +5.069

3. Andre Heimgartner (R&J Batteries) +11.501

4. Broc Feeney (Crimson Bull Ampol Racing) +18.649

5. Shane van Gisbergen (Crimson Bull Ampol Racing) +19.116


1. Will Brown (Erebus Motorsport) 1357 pts

2. Brodie Kostecki 1350 pts

3. Broc Feeney 1331 pts

4. Shane van Gisbergen 1285 pts

5. Chaz Moster (Mobil 1 Optus) 1114 pts