Supercar’s Feeney and van Gisbergen declare prime honours in Darwin

A one-two end for Purple Bull Ampol Racing’s Broc Feeney and Shane van Gisbergen has narrowed the Supercars championship standings after a superbly executed technique for race 14 at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Feeney began from pole place and thwarted undercut makes an attempt by Erebus Motorsport’s Will Brown and Truck Help’s Andre Heimgartner to prevail for his fourth victory of the season.

Opting to carry van Gisbergen out for longer and overcutting Heimgartner with 12 laps remaining put Purple Bull on observe for a complete double on the midpoint of the season.

Heimgartner completed third and can begin on the entrance row of the grid once more for Sunday’s remaining race in Darwin.

Erebus’ Brodie Kostecki and Will Brown rounded out the highest 5.

Feeney has now received 4 races in 2023 to championship chief Kostecki’s two and has narrowed the factors hole to 159.

His victory marked the 14th consecutive win for a Chevrolet Camaro within the new Gen 3 period. Ford are nonetheless attempting to find their maiden victory.

‘Stoked to be right here’

“It’s incredible to get pole place, get a superb begin. To guide the race from begin to end was superior,” Feeney instructed Fox Sports activities.

“Our second one-two, however our first on paper. Stoked to be right here.”

Purple Bull Ampol additionally scored a double again in spherical one, however the pair have been sensationally disqualified after a protest relating to their cockpit cooling programs.

There stays one remaining race in Darwin to complete Sunday’s motion, with Jack Le Brocq beginning a Supercars race from pole place for the primary time.

Heimgartner will get one other crack off the entrance row, with Feeney and Saturday’s race winner Mark Winterbottom in positions three and 4.

Race 14 outcome:

1. Broc Feeney (Purple Bull Ampol Racing) 40:48.2780

2. Shane van Gisbergen (Purple Bull Ampol Racing) +1.476

3. Andre Heimgartner (Truck Help Racing) +3.306

4. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus Motorsport) +4.134

5. Will Brown (Erebus Motorsport) +10.981